Stop Stalking Me.

on

Relax, this is not a post about any online stalker or anything frightening like that. This is a post about the way that the sites you browse online, can sometimes never ever go away. You can very innocently look at a certain hotel booking site for a little fantasy holiday (that you can’t actually afford) and suddenly see it following you every where you go.

It’s particularly cruel when you would happily book it but don’t have the money. You get taunted by champagne glasses and fluffy towels and a much thinner , happier looking person than yourself ,staring back at you from her chaise long. She is  in her fluffy bathrobe, drinking her Champagne from a hot tub. All because you were bored one day and thought you’d have a quick google of what your dream hotel would cost.

This is called retargeted advertising. It’s great if you have a business and want to learn how to stalk your customer but I have personally always found it a bit creepy. I have two ounces of dignity left and I don’t want to upset my customers by forcing them back to my website. (I just write blogposts instead). One of the companies that offer this service is Adroll

I also want a new kitchen and have been known on occasion to look at kitchen websites waiting for the day that I no longer have to pay, 755 random tuitions for random activities the kids go to. I also fantasize about self cleaning kitchens but haven’t found any online anywhere.So until I can afford a new one, I taunt myself occasionally by looking them up online to see if there are any for €89 or so instead of €5000 . (Let me know anyone if you find one).

Then they stalk me and wherever I go. Kitchen pop up ads are all I can see, with their clean lines, organised spice racks, gleaming silverware and matching  utensils. I have never yet seen a dirty kitchen floor online where the kids have dropped their rice krispies as they tried to get two portions into the one bowl, then stood  over them and mashed them into the ground.I need it to stop, it’s cruelty.

I love Netflix but also find they can sometimes get me wrong too. The youngest has been known to have a power ranger binge from time to time  and when on the odd occasion I get to watch something I like. (Without a half hour family consultation on why eveyone else hates the movie I want to see), they advise me on the latest Power Rangers episode that I might have missed.

Sometimes though they get me so right. They know me better than I know myself. We think you may like ‘Luther’ based on your love of murky , dark psychopathic slightly dodgy cop programmes. (in another language).

So how do you get rid of the ads?  For your phone and for your computer.

For companies that are stalking you with their newsletters, use the amazing Unroll.me

In the meantime if you would like to visit my website, (I will not stalk you , I swear) or you can just follow this blog. I will never leave you alone. You can also follow me on Social Media 

 

 

Leave a comment